Spuntino – London W1D

November 28, 2013 § Leave a comment

Italian/Americano style small plates, a popcorn machine and a buzzing vibe – this is counter-top dining at its best

Spuntino had been sitting on my ‘must-go-soon’ list for such a long time I had almost given up hope of going. But after an evening perched on one of those sacred and sought after 26 counter-top-stools, I am so pleased I didn’t. I went with a friend but I think this is perfect for a date; its fun, fairly cheap and full of atmosphere. And the food, the food is super.

Spuntino is known for serving dishes that are unapologetically calorific, take the ‘Mac n Cheese‘ (£7) for example, (delicious by the way) but there are always a fair amount of lighter options too – the ‘Honeydew Melon Salad with Hazelnuts‘ (£5.5) and ‘Panzanella‘ (£5) are both incredibly good – the latter translates at ‘wet bread and raw vegetables‘ but I implore you to try this Tuscan classic – even despite my dislike of raw tomatoes, I thoroughly enjoyed the dish in its entirety.

I would also highly recommend any of the pizettes that are on offer when you go – we had the ‘Mozzarella and Nettle Pizette‘ (£7) which smelt so good my neighbour to my left actually asked if he might be able to have my last slice. It’s that kind of place. Needless to say I politely declined.

I actually went to Spuntino during the summer so  many of these dishes will have changed as they keep their menu seasonal and interesting. But I am confident in saying it’s a great option for a flavour packed meal with a decent price tag. If you are planning on taking a date here for dinner, I would arrive as early as you can and be prepared to enjoy a few drinks at the corner bar first, as the seats fill up fast. But a few pre-dinner drinks is a good start to any date in my books anyway so that shouldn’t put you off.

Dinner for two: £44
Drinks: Cocktails from £6.5
spuntino.co.uk

Nearby bars: Mark’s Bar at Hix – London W1F
You might also like: Mishkin’s – London WC2B

Agent Restauranteur
Square Meal

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Spuntino – London W1D at Agent Restauranteur.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,102 other followers

